Shared Topic: Do Your Alts Know Each Other?

Whether you have many alts or just a few, do they know each other? Do they have some sort of relationship as people living in Azeroth, or is sending materials and money between them just a game mechanic for you? If your characters do know each other, what kind of relationships do they have, and how did those relationships come into being? If they don’t, what functions do your different alts serve?

To be honest, this is a topic that I haven’t really thought about before. From an role playing stand-point I have, it makes sense for me to use all my characters for each of theirs stories. Why not? I am lazy and don’t want to design a whole new set of characters who I don’t even get to play for my girls. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it’s a really prominent factor in my in-game role play (not like there’s a lot of it). I think that it would prove to be difficult; what if you needed both characters together for a role playing session but you, of course, can only play one? I am sure there are ways around such problems, but it is too much of a hassle for me (again, I am lazy). It also doesn’t feature much in my normal game play: If I am sending some money to my baby Druid from my Warlock, I am not thinking to myself “Oh, I must send this money to her! She sent such a nice letter requesting the aid, and I cannot refuse!” Instead I am thinking, “Finally, I get this mini-drood off her ass and equipped with professions.”

From an RP point-of-view some of my characters certainly do have relationships with each other. It mostly pops up in my writing outside of game, or it will, whenever I actually finish writing the scraps of stories I’ve got floating about. Annorith and Elianore, Warlock and Druid respectively, actually have a relationship that is fairly negative; Eli is relatively young for a Night Elf, and has a more naive and gentle personality than Rith. She’s a healer, and while she believes strongly in the conquering of evil, she herself cannot stomach violence. Her patience and her unassertive nature bothers Rith, the world-weary and more cynical of the two. She respects Eli’s powers as a healer, but generally avoids spending time around her to sidestep any potential arguments.

Eli herself has a younger sister, Tripia, where once more she runs into conflict over her strong hatred of violence. If you have read this story about Tripia, you’ll know that she has no qualms whatsoever when it comes to blood and gore. In fact, she honestly seems to enjoy it. The two sisters move in totally different circles though, with Eli fighting first in Icecrown and now battling her way through the new content, and with Tripia focused mainly on fighting the Horde. Because of their limited contact, their arguments are short and sparse. However, Tripia is one of the few people that Eli would willingly kill for.

The only other current relationship between my characters is the friendship between Laputa, my Priest, and Caecillia, my Death Knight. They were friends throughout their childhood and into their adulthood, remaining close despite their different careers (Laputa became a priestess of Elune and Caecillia, before her resurrection as a Death Knight, was a Sentinel). However, now Laputa, whose parents were brutally murdered by the Scourge, struggles to forgive Cae for her new form, and their friendship suffers for it. It is one of the problems that plague Caecillia in her quest to stamp out the Scourge magic that curses her.

Oddly, none of my Draenei have relationships with each other, or any stories to their names. Oenone the Paladin is, of course, linked to Will’s Paladin, Trimack (though we are not sure how as of yet), and Acrisius, my Warrior, has the faintest sketch of a background story. I guess my Draenei are my escape characters; the toons that I play when I would rather see a tail instead of a Night Elf’s butt. Someday I am sure they will all have stories to share, but that will be far in the future.

What about you? Do your characters have in-game relationships with each other?

Many thanks to Kamalia for posting this awesome topic on Blog Azeroth. Was great fun!

~ by riththewarluid on April 5, 2011.

12 Responses to “Shared Topic: Do Your Alts Know Each Other?”

  1. Actually, yes, yes I do!

    The sort of “tied story” is that the draenei Death Knight and draenei Priest I play are sisters – so in addition to the usual “hey guys, sibling rivalry” there’s also “YOU WERE DEAD NOW YOU’RE NOT EW AUGH WHAT”

    This sounds stupid to put it into words.

    I think about these sorts of things a lot though.

    • That doesn’t sound stupid at all! It’s similar to my story between my Priest and Death Knight. For them it’s less of a “ew now you’re dead” but more of an issue of “I am a Priestess of the Light and the Scourge murdered my parents and you’re associated with the Scourge and even Elune has forsaken you and I can’t see how we can be friends anymore.” Which sounds much more stupid than yours.

  2. If I am sending some money to my baby Druid from my Warlock, I am not thinking to myself “Oh, I must send this money to her! She sent such a nice letter requesting the aid, and I cannot refuse!” Instead I am thinking, “Finally, I get this mini-drood off her ass and equipped with professions.”

    Heh, I am usually the same way. I send the stuff, but I don’t write anything in the letters. Sometimes, though, I get these rare moods where I do write a snippet of an IC message from one toon to the other — like when I bought a Tome of Polymorph: Turtle off the AH for 1k gold shortly before Cata dropped and sent it to my BE mage with a note reading “This cost a lot of money, so you’d better appreciate it!”

    I think it’s cool that your characters do have conflicted relationships. I’m sure it makes the stories you write about them more interesting than the fragments of stories I tell about my characters, who don’t have a lot of interpersonal disagreements.

    • Sometimes conflict is good; gives nice opportunities for angst and character development. But having compatible characters are always good too! It cant be all angst all the time. :)

  3. A few of my chars are related. I haven’t tried out the friendship-connection yet, but I think that will be on my next list :)

  4. You know my alts, and I have MANY, do not know each other. I do feel differently on each toon..or perhaps it is I feel different about them. Hmmm. Good food for thought, Rith.

    • A bunch of my toons dont, like my Draenei that I mentioned, my Worgen, and all my Horde toons. Whether that is because they dont have backstories yet, I am not sure.

  5. Very nice, thought-provoking post! Also was helpful in getting me to figure out how to organize my own post. ^^

    I like how several of your characters actually have negative relationships, or at least some conflict with one another. All my characters get along for the most part. Though I think that’s because they all, at their core, have a part of me in them, and it must be the part of me that dislikes conflicts and would rather be friends. xD

    I am also painfully reminded of how many alts I have. My post will be so long compared to yours. ^^;

    Fun read! Thanks for sharing! :D

    • Haha. I didnt mean for all their relationships to turn out to be conflicts. I guess I like inflicting pain on my characters? And rest assured, some of the conflicts will be resolved, eventually.

      I am planning on making the relationships between my Draenei a bit more positive; maybe I will get to write a romance? Who knows!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

