Confessions of a Wannabe Raider

I will be honest. I am not an expert at all when it comes to World of Warcraft. I’m that kind of player that started late, and is just now catching up to everyone else.

Sad part is, I started three years ago.

I finally got my warlock, Rith, up to 80 weeks after all my friends had. And while everyone was off running Naxxramas, I was taking a break from World of Warcraft and getting a bit of a breather. When I came back, everyone was into Ulduar, and Rith was sitting there with an arrangement of blues and doing (maybe) 1.8k DPS. And yes, I know, DPS isn’t everything in this game, and having fun is important too! But at this point in time, I was convinced that to have fun, you had to be a great player with some crazy DPS like 4k (*gasp!*)

Rith was very upset with me, as she always is when I don’t pamper her as much as she would like. I avoided playing her, despite her threats of leaving me for another account. For me, it was hard to jump back into the game with little experience, when everyone is busy raiding and getting shiny new gear.

As soon as the random instance option came into being, I leaped at the new opportunity. I decided that  I had much more of a chance of becoming the epic raider that I waned to be on my little druid, who was just sitting in Kalimdor and staring sullenly at me. I respecced her to resto from feral, and plowed right into healing as a tree. Rith quickly got put on the back burner as I sped towards 80 on Eli, and before I knew it, Eli was my main and Rith was the alt that I never (ever) talked about.

I am (finally…) in the process of getting Rith more up to date with the rest of the game. She’s part of my guild’s second group for ICC 10 regular, and flourishing beautifully. Who knew that it’d feel so good to be an epic warlock? I think it has something to do with stealing people’s souls to make soul candy… But we don’t spread that around, so shh!

Eli the tree is coming along as well, working on her off specc (Balance) gear, and slowly building up her frost emblems. She doesn’t have a raiding spot yet, but I hope to find one soon for her. She gets occasionally pulled into the odd raid, but I just haven’t gotten her a slot in any raid. But we’re getting there!

And here I am! Leaping into the blogosphere like I’m one of the frogs from Howling Fjord, and hoping that I manage to enlighten/amuse/steal someone’s soul (*shifty eyes*) by posting about my adventures in the wonderful wonderful world of pixels that we call Azeroth.

~ by riththewarluid on July 30, 2010.

4 Responses to “Confessions of a Wannabe Raider”

  1. I’m your first commenter ever! Woot!

  2. Cookies are always good. 🙂

    I like it so far. I look forward to reading your columns as you post them. If there aren’t any objections, would you mind if I perhaps spread a little word about your new blog, to maybe give you a bit more readership? I’m sure that Ophelie would be pleased to know that she helped inspire you to make a blog. 🙂

    • I would be delighted to have you help me get more readers. I just hope they don’t think I’m awful, hehe.

Leave a Reply

 
