Shared Topic: What’s in a Name?

I had been planning on creating a post that is all about my characters names (at the urging of a good friend of mine), and had already started on gathering some research together for the post. So when I learned about this weeks Shared Topic, it was a nice kick start into the topic. No more procrastinating! I will actually get around to writing this post now.

I’m going to start with my main character, and possibly my most embarrassing character’s name.

Annorith

I’m not sure how many of you out there are Pokémon fans… I happen to be one of them. When my friend introduced me to World of Warcraft, the scene was something like this. I was sitting on her bed with her Gameboy, playing the most recent Pokémon game (I believe it was Sapphire at the time), while she tried to get me to pay attention to her computer.

Her: “Okay, so this is how you loot, and you just sort of run around and quest and- Hey! Pay attention!”

Me: “But I’m in the middle of a fight with Gary and my Swampert is dying!!”

No joke.

Obviously, I eventually paid attention to what she was trying to show me, otherwise I would not be here today. Well, I would be, just not… Writing a blog… Either way, I got home, and downloaded my ten day trial. My original characters name was Nitaki, which was a pseudonym that I have been using for years now online. It didn’t mean anything, I just liked how it sounded and created my first little Warlock. However, I had made this girl on my friend’s account, so when I went to make a new Warlock on my own account, the name wasn’t available. So, without thinking, I named my new character after this…

Taa daa

An anorith. Some kind of prehistoric, bug thing. It almost makes me wonder how I would have turned out if there was no Annorith the Warlock… I wouldn’t be Rith the Warluid, that’s for sure.

Next is:

Elianore

There’s nothing particularly special about Eli’s name. I came up with it because I was reading a biography of Eleanor of Aquitaine at the time, and it just seemed like a natural choice. I didn’t want to go for your standard Eleanor, because I was under the assumption that it was already taken. I am surprised, actually, that Elianore wasn’t.

According to thinkbabynames.com, Elianore means sun ray, or shining light. The name Eleanor comes from the Greek, and is a variant of the name Helen. So I guess my baby druid is a Night Elf that will sink a thousand ships, and bring shining light to the world. Not a bad future, eh?

Caecillia

Caecillia is another name that I have taken from history, from the name Caecilia. There was a Roman family with the gens and cognomen of Caecilius Metellus, and because daughters took their father’s names, Caecilius’ daughter was named Caecilia. My friend told me that Caecilia was a patron goddess of music, but I haven’t found anything to back up that claim yet. Besides, that doesn’t seem to fit with the whole slightly twisted Death Knight thing. I have problems imagining Cae dressed in a flowing, shiny toga singing along to some angelic tune. I quite like her in bloodstained armor with her shiny axe instead.

A ‘caecillia’ is also a worm-creature from a fantasy world called Vaults of Pandidas, or Mystara. I’ve never heard of either of those things, but apparently I am a meat-eater that can be found anywhere, and I like to lie in wait under loose soil and then bite people. Charming.

Tripia

Now, Tripia is a name that I pretty much just pulled out of my brain. I don’t know where I heard it, or how I came up with it. I really, truly, don’t. >< However, it does in fact mean something. Or, rather, is the name of something else.

There’s a really pretty island in Greece called Eleonas. It is also called Trypia, which the internet then transformed in Tripia.

I would like to live there.

Laputa

Now this name is a fun one. We all know what it means in Spanish, so I am not going to go into that. However, I hope that at least some of you are acquainted with the Laputa from Miyazaki’s “Castle in the Sky.” Laputa is the name of that castle, a huge abandoned technological wonder that is filled with both marvelous greenery and mysterious magic. It’s inhabited by huge, awkward robots who are it’s keepers, but are shut down and powerless because of the loss of their princess.

Laputa is also the flying island from “Gulliver’s Travels” by Jonathan Swift. The Laputa from his imagination is less of a fairy tale, as men tend to force their women to stay on the island for fear that they will not want to return.

Raechael

Another name that is simply a different spelling of a more common one. Can you guess what it is? (*heavy sarcasm*).

Simply put, Raechael is my spelling of Rachel, which is Hebrew for lamb. I didn’t really have a reason for naming her this, I just love the name Rachel but dislike it’s spelling. No offense meant to all you Rachel’s out there… My spelling is just better.

Abelline

AKA: The girl whose name has absolutely no meaning whatsoever.

The reason I chose this name was because it sounded like the personality that I wanted my mage to have. I have said many times that all my girls have a story, and I wanted Bell’s personality to be sweet and a little naive. I probably came up with her name while thinking about abalone, whose shells I find to be some of the most beautiful things in the world. My favorite necklace has a centerpiece of abalone, and I just find it exquisite.

So that’s my mage in a nutshell. She’s sweet, she’s pretty, she’s exquisite. She’s only level 16, and not going anywhere soon. I blame her naivety.

Acrisius

For those of you who have seen the most recent ‘Clash of the Titans,’ don’t get excited. I named this girl long before that movie came out and completely ruined the lore behind the name. Acrisius was a Grecian king, however that’s just about all the movie got right.

Acrisius was a very greedy and jealous king. He exiled his brother so that he could have more land, and was haunted by the fact that his wife never bore him a son. He consulted an Oracle at Delphi, and the Oracle told him that one day, his daughter’s son would kill him. His daughter, Danae, was childless, and so to keep her that way, he locked her in a bronze chamber in his courtyard with it’s ceiling open to the sky. Zeus fell in love with the imprisoned Danae, and impregnated her as a shower of gold. The boy that Danae gave birth to was Perseus. Overtaken with anger, the king locked his daughter and grandchild in a chest and threw them into the sea, but they both survived. A fisherman took in the mother and child, and cared for them until Perseus grew up.

Perseus went on to become a hero, as we all know. He slew the Medusa, and did rescue Andromeda (though it was not from a Kraken). He fulfilled the prophecy that the Oracle gave when he participated in a series of funeral games where his grandfather was present. Perseus threw a discus, whose direction went awry and hit the king in the head and killed him.

Oenone EDIT: Will’s special girl

Another name from Greek/Roman mythology. Oenone was an oread, or a mountain nymph, that lived on Mount Ida in Phrygia. Her name means, literally, wine woman. She was the first wife and lover of Paris of Troy, who was abandoned on the mountain at birth. They had a child, whom they named Corythus.

When Paris abandoned Oenone to kidnap Helen, the distraught nymph predicted the entire Trojan War. Taking revenge on Paris, she used her son to guide the Greeks to Troy to try to ensure the victory of Agamemnon and Menelaus. Later, when Paris was fatally wounded by an arrow, he travelled back to the mountain to beg Oenone’s forgiveness and ask her to heal him with her arts. The nymph rejected him, and he died on the lower slopes of Mount Ida.

It is said that she was the only whole-hearted mourner of Paris, and out of remorse, grief, and love, she threw herself onto his funeral pyre.

~ by riththewarluid on October 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “Shared Topic: What’s in a Name?”

  1. Your charatcers’ names have rich, thought-out meanings. I love that. 🙂

    My Hunter’s name was one that I pulled out of my butt after staring at the character creation screen for a good ten minutes. It doesn’t mean anything and it’s not a reference to anything. It just popped in there, sounded suitably Elvish, and I rolled with it. I don’t know if I’d pick a different one if I had to do it all over again.

    My Death Knight’s, Paladin’s, and Warrior’s names are all culled from a book series that I adore. I would hope that they fit the characters themselves, too.

    They’re certainly better than the “Cptmuffdiver”, “Jerkmyweenis”, and “Pubichair” that I’ve seen in cities before. Ugh.

    • I’m not sure if “rich” is necessarily the right word for their meanings, but thank you. 🙂 Most of them are just sort of random… Like the Tripia thing. I had no idea that was a Grecian island! And as for Laputa, I just liked the sound of it, I haven’t really made it symbolize any part of her character (yet). And I was silly when I named my *female* Draenei warrior after a *male* king. \facepalm

      I like your hunter’s name. I think it suits him, and I think it suits you. Maybe that’s just because I’ve known you as his name, though. I think your other character’s names suit them. 🙂 They sound very… Solid, and since they are all tanks, that makes total, reassuring sense.

Leave a Reply

 
