The Angry Tank Playlist

Some days, nothing goes right. Your cat threw up all over your bag, your car breaks down, your microwave stops working, you spilled tea on your desk, and your pants split while you were at work. You drag yourself home, tired and humiliated, to collapse in front of your computer. Your nerves are fraying at the edges, your hair is hopelessly ruffled, your clothes wrinkled. You fire up World of Warcraft, sighing as your cat (the culprit of the throw up) comes and drools on your keyboard and wants all of your attention on her. As you log in, you stretch, and smile slightly, before entering the world of Azeroth on your tank. After a day like today, you are so ready to kick some ass.

You que, and of course you are gifted with an insta-que into a group. Stretching your fingers, you type out a friendly “Hello!” to the party. And then realize that the Hunter has already pulled, your healer dropped group, your mage went AFK, and the Ret Paladin is trying to tank.

Add angry to the list of tired and frustrated, and you need some serious music to back you up during your in-game endeavors.

This playlist is for you.

(Also, flame comments about how terrible a band is/how bad my taste is will not be tolerated. Enjoy!)

ex. Artist: Song 1, Song 2, etc.

After Midnight Project: Backlit Medley, The Becoming, Scream for You, Come On Come On, The Criminal

Alkaline Trio: Bleed

Apocalyptica: I Don’t Care (feat. Adam Gontier), S.O.S. (Anything but Love) [feat. Christina Scabbia]

Atreyu: Doomsday, Falling Down, Becoming the Bull

Avenged Sevenfold: Beast and the Harlot, Scream, Afterlife, Unbound

Breaking Benjamin: I Will Not Bow, Crawl, Give Me a Sign, Anthem of the Angels, Dear Agony, Evil Angel, Until the End, Dance With the Devil, Unknown Soldier, So Cold (Remix), Follow, Firefly, Break My Fall, Breakdown, Away

Bullet For My Valentine: Your Betrayal, All These Things I Hate

Chevelle: Jars, The Clincher, Vitamin R (Leading Us Along), I Get It, Send the Pain Below, The Red

Cold: Remedy, Suffocate, Stupid Girl

Crossfade: Cold, Invincible, Drown You Out

Demon Hunter: Fading Away

Disturbed: Indestructible, Inside the Fire, The Night, Perfect Insanity, Haunted, Enough, The Curse, Torn, Criminal, Ten Thousand Fists, Just Stop, Guarded, Stricken, I’m Alive, Forgiven, Land of Confusion, Sacred Lie, Pain Redefined

Dope: Crazy, I Don’t Give a ****

Dragonforce: Through the Fire and Flames

Dream Theater: These Walls

Drowning Pool: Bodies

Egypt Central: You Make Me Sick, Taking you Down

Element Eighty: Broken Promises

Evanescense: Going Under, Bring Me to Life

Five Finger Death Punch: Walk Away

Godsmack: I Stand Alone

Hollywood Undead: Young, This Love, This Hate (<— One song title), Knife Called Lust

Kamelot: When the Lights Are Down, Soul Society, This Pain, The Black Halo, Nothing Ever Dies, Memento Mori, Center of the Universe, Farewell, Descent of the Archangel, Lost & Damned, Ghost Opera

Killswitch Engage: The End of Heartache

Linkin Park: Don’t Stay, From the Inside, Somewhere I Belong, Faint, Breaking the Habit, Numb, What I’ve Done, New Divide

Nightwish: Bye Bye Beautiful, Wish I Had an Angel, Nemo

No Scope: The Beast (Call of the Lich King)

The Offspring: You’re Gonna Go Far, Kid (this is Cae’s theme song for no reason)

Papa Roach: Getting Away With Murder, Scars

Powerman 5000: When Worlds Collide

Rise Against: Long Forgotten Sons, From Heads Unworthy, The Strength to Go On, Hero of War, Savior, Whereabouts Unknown, Prayer of the Refugee, Ready to Fall

Rob Zombie: Demon Speeding

Royal Bliss: Save Me

Saliva: Broken Sunday

Scary Symmetry: Morphogenesis, The Illusionist

Seether: Breakdown, 6 Gun Quota, Remedy, The Gift

Sevendust: Praise

Shinedown: Fly from the Inside, Sound of Madness, Sin With a Grin, Breaking Inside, I Own You, Son of Sam

Sick Puppies (terrible name, amazing Aussie band): My World, Street Fighter (War), I Hate You, Rip Tide, You’re Going Down, Survive, Maybe, Master of the Universe, Dead Space

Skillet: Hero, Monster, Rebirthing, The Last Night, Comatose, Falling Inside the Black, Whispers in the Dark

Slipknot: Dead Memories, Snuff, Wait and Bleed, Vermilion

Smile Empty Soul: Nowhere Kids

Stone Sour: 30/30 – 150, Made of Scars

Submersed: Hollow

Sum 41: The Hell Song, Over My Head (Better Off Dead)

Three Days Grace: Break, World so Cold, Life Starts Now, Pain, Animal I Have Become, Riot, Time of Dying, Now or Never

Trapt: Headstrong

Within Temptation: What Have you Done (feat. Keith Caputo) [US Edit] (I really like the full length version too, but this one fits the mood better), Our Solemn Hour, Hand of Sorrow, Final Destination, Stand my Ground

To avoid copyright issues, none of this music is mine. Just sharing some of my favorite bands with the world.

~ by riththewarluid on November 6, 2010.

7 Responses to “The Angry Tank Playlist”

  1. I love it! Not only because it’s appropriate to the mood, but because there are several bands on your list that I’ve never heard of, so now I get to go explore some new music. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing, Rith! ❀

    • Oh, good! I am glad you enjoy it. πŸ™‚

      A lot of these bands are prog/alt rock; Kamelot, Nightwish, Dragonforce, Dream Theater, Scar Symmetry are all more prog metal groups. And if you try one of these songs and don’t like it, don’t give up hope! I did choose the angriest, most swear-word filled songs.

      Keep an eye out for my next playlists. πŸ™‚ I am considering doing a series.

      • I added another song to the list, by the way. ‘The Beast (Call of the Lich King)’ by No Scope.
        An actual song about WoW on a WoW playlist?! \gasp

  2. I love how you have “Center of the Universe” on the angry tank playlist, considering it’s a song about how Ariel has decided to go searching knowledge elsewhere because he just wants to KNOW what everything means, his “always searching” mind. XD

    That said, I like your choice of moosiks for angry tanks. πŸ™‚

  3. My cat throws up in the middle of my hallway, but yes a very good list, a few bands/songs on it feature in my playlist too for general Wowing, ” Stand my Ground” is an awesome tanking song. I can see my warrior sword in hand, grimacing up at the face of some great beast humming along

    • Agreed! I was amused by how many of the song titles seem to match tanking in general. “Stand my Ground,” is, of course, obvious, but there are others scattered through there. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
